Banawe Rice Terraces and Waterfalls

Trip to Banawe Rice Terraces and Waterfalls Restaurant at Villa Escodero

I grew up in the Philippines and every summer, when school is on break, we will go visit my grandparents at the province. They have a farm where we plant rice and grow vegetables in the garden. We do crop rotation and make our own compost. We cook using clay pots and coal or chopped wood for fire. In the 80’s biofuel was introduced but most people prefer propane because it’s easier to use and portable.

There was no Barbie and G.I. Joe to play with, instead me and my childhood friends will ride the Carabaos (water buffalo) or horses and go to the waterfalls to play. We usually lay a mat under the big mango trees for shade and put our stuff there. We will ride the bicycle and run in the fields. Sometimes we will catch snails at the garden and cook them with coconut milk and green chili pepper. Escargot is not just for french cuisine. All the food we put on the table are harvested from the farm the same day. Refrigerator is only used to make cold water and ice candy (popsicles).

A 8 hours drive from our farm is the Banawe Rice Terraces. It was built 2000 years ago and passed on from generation to generation, the Ifugao Rice Terraces represent an enduring illustration of an ancient civilization that surpassed various challenges and setbacks posed by modernization.

Time to take off your shoes or flip flops and roll up your sleeves. Be prepared to get a little wet with drizzles from the waterfalls. This is the famous Villa Escudero Waterfalls Restaurant. One of my favorite tourist destination. You will eat with your hands here. They used to give you banana leaves as a plate, then after eating you can wash your hands at the flowing water. I had so much fun here with my friends and family.

I miss the beaches in Palawan. I always love the water. It feels like home to me. It’s something spiritual. I feel I’m in peace and one with the nature.

2 thoughts on “Banawe Rice Terraces and Waterfalls

Leave a Reply

